When a mother kills

I originally published this in April 2009. I think, as Casey awaits the start of her trial, less than a month away, it is worth another look, especially with psychologists Dr. Jeffrey Danziger and Dr. William Weitz figuring so prominently in the picture. Please remember that Casey has not been tried in a court of law. Therefore, she has not been convicted of murder.

I resourced a number of clinical studies that can be referenced through the link at the bottom of this post. Did I plagiarize? No, but I borrowed heavily because I am not a psychiatrist, nor am I a psychologist. I have interpolated and interpreted those documents and condensed them into one – in my own words. Hopefully, this will render a more palatable post that’s easier to read and mentally ingest. You can digest it in the privacy of your home or workplace, and you can egest it in the comments section.

Murder is considered to be an unthinkable crime by most societies on earth, but when parents kill their own children, it rattles and shakes the foundation of humanity. It is the lowest of lows, the worst form of all crimes imaginable. Casey Anthony will go on trial for first-degree murder in the death of her not quite 3 year old daughter, Caylee. If found guilty of the crime, she faces her own sentence of death. This is not intended to place guilt or innocence on her. It is a study in filicide, the murder of one’s own children.

TO CONTINUE READING, CLICK HERE